Skip to main content
Saas-Fee
Saas-Fee

New Hannig cableway 2023

Hannigbahn

  • Saas-Fee

Where we are now

The licence to operate the current cableway expires in April 2023. The Hannig region is a very important tourist destination and local recreational area which is busy throughout the year. A survey conducted among people with second homes throughout the Saas Valley has revealed that the Hannigberg is the most significant destination of all. As a place of exploration and activity close to the village, it offers a key alternative to the classic skiing holiday and boasts the very best development opportunities for the future. The Saastal Bergbahnen company has expressed its willingness to rent the Hannigbahn for a long-term period, to cover the maintenance and operating costs and thereby to bear the commercial risk. To ensure that the Hannig, as a tourist destination, remains accessible by mountain railway in the future and the mountain’s potential can continue to be exploited and developed, it is now a question of securing the finance required.

 

Contact

Projekt Neubau Hannigbahn 2023
c/o Gemeinde Saas-Fee
Dorfplatz 8
3906 Saas-Fee

E-Mail: hannigbahn@3906.ch

 

Project presentation

In the evaluation phase, all the possible technical variants and line routes were scrutinised from various perspectives and their advantages and disadvantages analysed. In-depth analysis revealed that a monocable gondola lift with ten-seater gondolas following the current route will best meet the future requirements.

 

Why is this variant so convincing?

  • The positioning of the Hannigberg as an alternative to the classic skiing holiday, with its high-quality tobogganing options, winter hiking and snowshoe trips, requires a central location with direct access from the village.
  • Any further development of the summer activities will likewise require a central location for the best possible use of the existing infrastructure.
  • The modern ten-seater gondolas, similar to those in use on the new Spielboden cableway, will meet guests’ stringent requirements in terms of comfort while also making it very easy and convenient to carry leisure items such as toboggans and bikes etc.
  • The enormous significance of the Hannig for the local population, guests and owners of second homes likewise requires direct access from the village centre.
  • Finally, there is a persuasive financial argument for this version, which has the best cost/benefit ratio of them all.

New developments and innovation factors

  • The comfortable ten-seater gondolas offer the ideal infrastructure for the transport of leisure items such as toboggans and bikes etc.
  • The whole installation is being designed to ensure that people with limited mobility and families with prams and pushchairs will also be able to use the cableway independently without obstruction.
  • The tobogganing experience will be noticeably improved by redesigning the return track of the toboggan run from Hohnegg and making it possible to sled close to the Hannig valley station. The final descent to the valley station will be made comfortably via a new escalator. In addition, the lower part of the toboggan run will be equipped with infrastructure for artificial snowmaking.
  • The new cableway, in conjunction with the new return line for the toboggan or monster scooter run, will lay the perfect foundation for the expansion of winter and summer activities on the Hannigberg.

Future positioning and activities offered by the Hannig as a leisure destination

The Hannig is to be positioned in its further development as a mountain for all generations, with the continued aims of attracting a broad target group to support the destination and guaranteeing its use for as much of the year as possible.

Project costs

The Saastal Bergbahnen company has expressed its willingness to lease the new Hannigbahn for a long-term period, to cover the maintenance and operating costs and thereby to bear the commercial risk. The costs of constructing the new cableway including a new toboggan run return line will amount to approx. CHF 11 million. If the new Hannigbahn is to be realised, equity capital of at least CHF 3 million will need to be collected.

Roadmap

  • Presentation of the project to the General Meeting of the tourist association: 28.03.2022
  • Project presentation for local population: 07.04.2022
  • Presentation of project for second-homers: 15.04.2022
  • Financing phase: starting 28.03.2022 (closure and expected achievement of the objective during summer 2022).

Once the finance has been secured:

  • by April 2023, licensing procedure and project work
  • May 2023 demolition
  • Summer-autumn 2023 new construction
  • Winter 2023 inauguration of the new cableway

Assessment of the need for the new Hannigbahn

Municipality of Saas-Fee

Saas-Fee is on its way up, and it will be necessary to harness this optimistic mood to secure a successful future.

Saastal Bergbahnen AG

As a mountain railway company, we can see the tourist benefits and the need for this cableway, even if it will be very hard to run at a profit. Therefore, we are willing to bankroll its operation in the long term.

Saastal Tourismus AG

Studies over the whole of Switzerland show that skiing as an activity is in slight decline, whereas activities like tobogganing, hiking and snowshoeing are trending. The Hannigberg is the ideal mountain for these activities and has a lot of development potential. We see the cableway as a means to an end, with the activities on offer on the mountain paving the way for innovation. At the same time, from the point of view of tourism, it would be a major blow to the local population, the owners of second homes and guests throughout the Saas Valley if this leisure destination were no longer to be accessible by cableway.

Skip to main content
Hannigbahn Saas-Fee
Hannigbahn Saas-Fee

Projekt neue Hannigbahn 2023

  • Hannigbahn Saas-Fee

Ausgangslage

Die Konzession für den Betrieb der aktuellen Bahn läuft im April 2023 aus. Das Hanniggebiet ist ein sehr wichtiges Ausflugsziel und Naherholungsgebiet, welches über das gesamte Jahr rege besucht wird. Eine Umfrage bei den Zweitheimischen des gesamten Saastals hat ergeben, dass der Hannigberg das wichtigste Ausflugsziel überhaupt ist. Als Erlebnisort nah am Dorf bietet es eine zentrale Alternative zum klassischen Skisport und besitzt beste zukünftige Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten. Die Saastal Bergbahnen haben sich bereit erklärt, die Hannigbahn langfristig zu mieten, die Unterhalts- und Betriebskosten zu decken und damit das unternehmerische Risiko zu tragen. Damit das Ausflugsziel Hannig auch in Zukunft mit einer Bergbahn erschlossen und damit das Potenzial am Berg weiter ausgeschöpft und ausgebaut werden kann, gilt es nun die Finanzierung sicherzustellen.

Kontakt

Projekt Neubau Hannigbahn 2023
c/o Gemeinde Saas-Fee
Dorfplatz 8
3906 Saas-Fee

E-Mail: hannigbahn@3906.ch

 

Projektpräsentation

In der Evaluierungsphase wurden aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln alle möglichen technischen Varianten und Linienführungen durchleuchtet und ihre Vor- und Nachteile analysiert. Nach vertieften Analysearbeiten hat sich gezeigt, dass eine Einseilumlaufbahn mit 10er-Gondeln mit der aktuellen Streckenführung die zukünftigen Bedürfnisse am besten abdeckt.

Weshalb überzeugt diese Variante?

  • Die Positionierung des Hannigbergs als Alternative zum klassischen Skisport mit einem qualitativ hochstehenden Schlittelangebot, Winterwandern und Schneeschuhtouren erfordert eine zentrale Lage mit direktem Zugang vom Dorf aus.
  • Die weitere Entwicklung der Sommeraktivitäten verlangt ebenfalls einen zentralen Standort zur optimalen Nutzung der bestehenden Infrastruktur.
  • Die modernen 10er-Gondeln analog der neuen Spielbodenbahn erfüllen die hohen Gästeansprüche in Bezug auf Fahrkomfort und ermöglichen gleichzeitig einen sehr bequemen Transport von Freizeitgeräten wie Schlitten, Bikes usw.
  • Die grosse Bedeutung des Hannig für die einheimische Bevölkerung, Übernachtungsgäste und Zweitwohnungsbesitzer*innen erfordert ebenfalls einen direkten Zugang vom Dorfzentrum aus.
  • Schliesslich überzeugt diese Variante auch finanziell und weist das beste Kosten-/ Nutzenverhältnis aus.

Neuigkeiten und Innovationsfaktor

  • Die neue Bergbahn in Kombination mit der neuen Sportgerätrückführung bilden eine ideale Voraussetzung für den Ausbau der Winter- und Sommerangebote auf dem Hannigberg.
  • Die komfortablen 10er-Gondeln bieten die ideale Infrastruktur zum Transport von Freizeitgeräten wie Schlitteln, Bikes usw.
  • Die gesamte Anlage wird so konzipiert, dass Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität oder auch Familien mit Kinderwagen die Bergbahnanlage ohne Hindernisse eigenständig nutzen können.
  • Das Schlittelerlebnis wird spürbar verbessert, indem ab Hohnegg die Rückführung der Schlittelpiste neu angelegt wird und das Schlitteln bis vor die Talstation Hannig möglich wird. Das letzte Gefälle bis zur Talstation erfolgt bequem über eine neue Rolltreppe. Zusätzlich wird der untere Teil der Schlittelpiste mit Infrastruktur zur künstlichen Beschneiung ausgestattet.

Zukünftige Positionierung und Angebote Ausflugsziel Hannig

Das Hannig wird bei der Weiterentwicklung als Generationenberg positioniert, mit dem Ziel, das Ausflugsziel weiter auf eine breite Zielgruppe abzustützen und einen möglichst langen Jahresbetrieb zu gewährleisten.

Projektkosten

Die Saastal Bergbahnen haben sich bereit erklärt, die neue Hannigbahn langfristig zu mieten, für die Unterhalts- und Betriebskosten aufzukommen sowie das unternehmerische Risiko zu tragen. Die Kosten für den Bau der neuen Bergbahn inkl. neuer Sportgerätrückführung belaufen sich auf rund 11 Mio. CHF. Damit die neue Hannigbahn realisiert werden kann, muss ein Eigenkapital in der Höhe von mind. 3 Mio. CHF zusammengetragen werden.

Roadmap

  • Vorstellung des Projekts an der Generalversammlung des Tourismusvereins am 28.03.2022
  • Projektpräsentation für die Bevölkerung: 07.04.2022
  • Projektpräsentation für die Zweitheimischen: 15.04.2022
  • Finanzierungsphase: ab dem 28.03.2022 (Abschluss und Erreichung des Ergebnisses voraussichtlich im Sommer 2022).

Falls die Finanzierung sichergestellt ist:

  • bis April 2023 Bewilligungsverfahren und Projektarbeiten
  • Mai 2023 Rückbau
  • Sommer-Herbst 2023 Neubau
  • Winter 2023 Eröffnung der neuen Bahn

Beurteilung Notwendigkeit neue Hannigbahn

Gemeinde Saas-Fee

Saas-Fee ist im Aufschwung, es gilt diese Aufbruchstimmung zugunsten einer erfolgreichen Zukunft zu nutzen.

Saastal Bergbahnen AG

Als Bergbahnunternehmung sehen wir den touristischen Nutzen und die Notwendigkeit dieser Bergbahn, auch wenn diese kaum rentabel betrieben werden kann. Daher sind wir bereit, den Betrieb langfristig zu sichern.

Saastal Tourismus AG

Schweizweite Studien zeigen, dass Skifahren als Aktivität leicht rückläufig ist, während Aktivitäten wie Schlitteln, Wandern oder Schneeschuhlaufen im Trend liegen. Der Hannigberg ist der ideale Berg für diese Aktivitäten und hat viel Ausbaupotenzial. Die Bergbahn sehen wir als Mittel zum Zweck, die Innovation soll über das Angebot am Berg erfolgen. Gleichzeitig wäre es touristisch gesehen für die einheimische Bevölkerung, die Zweitheimischen und die Gäste im gesamten Saastal ein grosser Rückschritt, wenn dieses Ausflugsziel in Zukunft nicht mehr über eine Bergbahn erschlossen wird.